Optionen und Transfers für die Mittelschule

Virtuell Informationsnacht der Mittelschule fand am Montag, den 25. Oktober 2021, um 7:XNUMX Uhr statt. Wählen Sie die folgenden Links aus, um sie anzuzeigen:


Allgemeine Optionen und Transfers für die Mittelschule Antragsinformationen für das Schuljahr 2022-23

Option Bewerbungszeitplan für Mittelschulen und Programme
Anwendungsfenster: GESCHLOSSEN 1 um 2021:10 – 21 um 2022:4
Lotterie 31, 2022 – 12 Uhr
Lotterie-Benachrichtigung 7. Februar 2022 nach 4 Uhr
Akzeptieren ablehnen 21. Februar 2022 um 11:59 Uhr
Antragszeitplan für Nachbarschaftstransfers in der Mittelschule
Anwendungsfenster: GESCHLOSSEN 21. Februar 2022 - 11. März 2022
Lotterie 18. März 2022, 1 – 3 Uhr
Lotterie-Benachrichtigung 25. März 2022 nach 4 Uhr
Akzeptieren ablehnen 8. April 2022
  • Option Schulen / Programme: Spanisches Immersionsprogramm in Gunston, Montessori Middle Years Program in Gunston und HB Woodlawn (Klasse 6-8).
  • Nachbarschaftstransfers: Neighborhood transfers for the 2022-23 school year were offered to the following middle schools: Dorothy Hamm, Jefferson, Kenmore, and Williamsburg. Additional information is available on the Mittelschule, die einen Transfer beantragt Website. Die Lotterien für das Schuljahr 2022-23 für die Mittelschulen, die Nachbarschaftstransfers akzeptieren, fanden am Freitag, den 18. März statt. Sehen Sie sich die Aufnahme an
  • Informationsnacht: Familien von Schülern, die im Herbst 2022 in die Mittelschule eintreten, erhalten einen Überblick über APS Mittelschulen, Schuloptionen, Bewerbungsfristen und -verfahren, schulbasierte Informationsveranstaltungen, verfügbare Ressourcen für Schüler und mehr.
  • Wartelisten: Wartelisten für den Nachbarschaftstransfer in der Mittelschule werden von der APS Welcome Center bis 2. Mai 2022. Optionsplätze werden während des gesamten Schuljahres kontinuierlich besetzt, sobald Plätze verfügbar sind. Familien werden benachrichtigt, wenn sie auf der Warteliste stehen und ein Sitzplatz frei wird. Wenn Familien einen Sitzplatz nicht fristgerecht annehmen oder ablehnen, wird der verfügbare Sitzplatz dem nächsten Schüler auf der Warteliste zugewiesen. Alle Wartelisten werden zurückgesetzt, wenn der Zeitraum für Optionen und Transfers jedes Jahr beginnt. Daher müssen sich Familien erneut bewerben, wenn sie noch an einer Schule oder einem Programm interessiert sind, für die sie sich zuvor beworben haben.
  • Geschwisterpräferenz: Die Präferenz für Geschwister wird derzeit nicht auf der Ebene der Mittelschule angeboten.
  • Transport: Für Schüler, die Optionsschulen / -programme besuchen und außerhalb der Gehzone ihrer Schule wohnen, steht ein Transportmittel zur Verfügung (Schulbusberechtigung anzeigen maps). Der gesamte Transport für die Optionsschule und die Programme erfolgt über Hub-Stopps. Hub-Haltestellen sind zentrale Orte - wie ein Gemeindezentrum oder eine Schule -, an denen sich Schüler aus verschiedenen Stadtteilen treffen, um den Bus zu ihrer Schule zu nehmen, und möglicherweise eine größere Entfernung vom Wohnort eines Schülers entfernt sind. Für Nachbarschaftstransfers oder administrative Vermittlungen wird kein Transport angeboten. Wähle hier aus um mehr über den Transport für Optionsschulen zu erfahren.
  • Häufig gestellte Fragen: Familien sollten das überprüfen Häufig gestellte Fragen zu sekundären Optionen und Übertragungen Antworten auf häufig gestellte Fragen zum Options- und Übertragungsprozess.
  • Lotterie-Informationen: Die Schuljahreslotterien 2022-23 für die Mittel- und Oberschuloptionsprogramme fanden am Montag, den 31. Januar 2022, von 12 bis 4 Uhr statt Sehen Sie sich die Aufnahme an.
  • Anwenden auf: Beantragen Sie eine Option Mittelschule oder Programm über die Online-Bewerbungsportal.

Für weitere Informationen oder Fragen wenden Sie sich bitte an die APS Welcome Center unter 703-228-8000 oder Schuloptionen @apsva.us..

Middle School Options & Transfers

Update February 14, 2022: The information on neighborhood transfers for the school year 2022-23 is now available. Additional information is available on the neighborhood transfers webpage for each level.

Update February 1, 2022: The lotteries for all secondary (middle and high) option school/program applications were held on Monday, Jan. 31, 2022. View the recording here.  Families will be notified of their acceptance or placement on the waitlist by the methods they selected through the online application portal (email or text) after 4 p.m. on Monday, February 7, 2022.

Update November 1, 2021: Virtual Middle School Information Night was held on Monday, Oct. 25, 2021, at 7 p.m.  Select the following links to view:


General Middle School Options & Transfers Application Information for School Year 2022-23

Option Middle Schools & Programs Application Timeline
Application Window: CLOSED Nov. 1, 2021 at 10 p.m. – Jan. 21, 2022 at 4 p.m.
Lottery Jan. 31, 2022, 12 – 4 p.m.
Lottery Notification Feb. 7, 2022 after 4 p.m.
Accept/Decline Feb. 21, 2022 by 11:59 p.m.
Middle School Neighborhood Transfers Application Timeline
Application Window: OPEN Feb. 21, 2022 – March 11, 2022
Lottery March 18, 2022, 1 – 3 p.m.
Lottery Notification March 25, 2022 after 4 p.m.
Accept/Decline April 8, 2022
  • Option Schools/Programs: Spanish Immersion Program at Gunston, Montessori Middle Years Program at Gunston, and H-B Woodlawn (Grades 6-8).
  • Neighborhood Transfers: Neighborhood transfers for the 2022-23 school year will be offered to the following middle schools: Dorothy Hamm, Jefferson, Kenmore, and Williamsburg. Additional information is available on the Middle School Requesting a Transfer webpage. The 2022-23 school year lotteries for the middle schools accepting neighborhood transfers was held on Friday, March 18. View the recording
  • Information Night: Families of students entering middle school in the fall of 2022 will hear an overview about APS middle schools, school options, application deadlines and procedures, school-based information sessions, available student resources, and more.
  • Waitlists: Middle school neighborhood transfer waitlists will be maintained by the APS Welcome Center until May 2, 2022. Options seats are continuously filled throughout the school year as seats become available. Families will be notified if they are on the waitlist and a seat becomes available. If families do not accept or decline a seat by the deadline, the available seat is given to the next student on the waitlist. All waitlists reset when the options and transfers period begins each year, so families must reapply if they are still interested in attending a school or program they applied to previously.
  • Sibling Preference: Sibling preference is not currently offered at the middle school level.
  • Transportation: Transportation is available for students attending option schools/programs who live outside their school’s walk zone (View school bus eligibility maps). All transportation for option school and programs is provided via hub stops. Hub stops are central locations—such as a community center or school—where students from several neighborhoods meet to catch the bus to their school and may be a longer distance from a student’s residence. Transportation is not provided for neighborhood transfers or administrative placements. Select here to learn more about transportation for option schools.
  • FAQs: Families should review the Secondary Options and Transfers FAQs for answers to questions frequently received about the options and transfers process.
  • Lottery Information: The 2022-23 school year lotteries for the middle and high school option programs were held on Monday, Jan. 31, 2022, from 12 – 4 p.m. View the recording.
  • To Apply: Apply for an option middle school or program through the online application portal.

For additional information or questions, please contact the APS Welcome Center at 703-228-8000 or schooloptions@apsva.us.